What We’re Reading. And You?

Here’s a short list, for starters:

Kristin:  “‘East of Eden‘ – though that’s my ‘serious’ book.  I read one serious and one popular fiction at the same time to balance each other out!

Judy:  “My sister just started a book club and we’re about to read, ‘The Reason I Jump‘ by Naoki Higashida.  He’s a Japanese teenager with Autism and he tells what life is like in his world.  On a light note: I just finished ‘Red Shirts‘ by Jon Scalzi.  It’s quite clever.  If you know anything about the old Star Trek series, then you know that the people that got killed always wore red shirts.  This story takes that concept and tells what it’s like for the people wearing the red shirts.  Also, I’ve started ‘Good Omens: the Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch‘ by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.  It’s a humorous take on the end of days.”
Three books mentioned in text
Ben: “I’m reading both: Expecting Better by Emily Oster and The Chaneysville Incident by David Bradley.”

Loreen:  “Of recent past, I fell in love with: ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns‘, by Khaled Hosseini, and ‘The Secret Life of Bees‘, by Sue Monk Kidd.  I just finished ‘Black Elk Speaks‘, by Lohn G. Neihardt, and, in my spare time, working my way through a gift book, ‘Textbook of Healthcare Ethics‘, by Erich H. Loewy, M.D.  Hopefully, over our holiday break, I want to read anything by Alice Munro, the recent winner of the Nobel Prize for literature.”

Tell us what you’re reading.

Comments are closed.

